Velocidade Online

Mundial - WTCC


Sexta, 24 Novembro 2017 10:29 | Actualizado em Quinta, 06 Agosto 2020 05:42

Catsburg driven to bring home the world titles with Polestar Cyan Racing in WTCC Qatar finale

A challenging encounter on the streets of Macau saw Nicky Catsburg finish down the order in the penultimate meeting of the FIA World Touring Car Championship on Sunday. A brush with the barriers in qualifying put him on the backfoot for rest the weekend. Nicky now heads for the Middle East for the final rounds of the championship with a clear focus on winning the drivers’ and manufacturers’ titles with Polestar Cyan Racing.

Whilst still in with a mathematical chance of winning the drivers’ title himself (44 points behind the leader with 55 available in Qatar), Catsburg’s best finish of ninth saw him drop back from his title rivals Norbert Michelisz and teammate Thed Bjork, with the Swede maintaining his title lead over the Honda rival by just 6.5 points.

The manufacturers’ title is equally as close with Catsburg’s Cyan team heading Honda by just 12.5 points setting up what will be an epic battle in the dark in Qatar.

"Macau wasn’t the best for me and I have paid the price in the drivers’ championship but it’s still all to play for in Qatar,” said Catsburg. “I’ll go there with every intention of putting in a strong performance, not just for myself, but my team and Thed to make sure we come away with both titles after what has been an amazing season with Polestar Cyan Racing.

“There is no doubt that the team will be 110% prepared for the challenge and Honda will be a formidable opponent, but I am confident that we will have a competitive car and team performance to get the job done.

"I have the added focus to make sure I stay ahead of my rivals in the drivers’ championship and if I can’t win it myself, I want to make sure I get back ahead of Mehdi Bennani to secure third place as a minimum."

The WTCC season finale, the Race of Qatar, takes place 30 November to 1 December.

Drivers’ championship
1 Thed Bjork             255 points
2 Norbert Michelisz   249
3 Mehdi Bennani       216
4 Nicky Catsburg       211.5
5 Tom Chilton             210.5
6 Esteban Guerrieri    205
Manufacturers’ championship
1 Polestar Cyan Racing  804.5
2 Honda                           792

Visitantes em linha
contador gratuito de visitas Total de visitas